Available on Free, Basic, Business plans
Admin privileges required
Sometimes, you may need to remove a user's access to your Team. Perhaps you are part of a company where one of your coworkers transferred to a department where they no longer need access. Maybe you're part of a school system where you need to cycle in and out students each year as users graduate or gain admission. Whatever the case may be, we provide deactivation as a process to ensure you can cleanly remove a user's access to the Team when needed.
If you wish to deactivate a user, visit Users and permissions under Admin settings. While browsing the user table, you can hover over the rightmost ACTIONS column of the user you wish to deactivate, as demonstrated below:
After confirming your decision to deactivate a user, the user will immediately be deactivated, instantly removing their access to the Team. A deactivated user is NOT a deleted user - they will still occupy a seat on your Team account and count towards a billable user.
We keep track of deactivated users for several reasons:
- It keeps track of the questions, answers, and comments posted by that user. Though they may not have access, their content will still be in the Team.
- It prevents a new user with the same email as the deactivated account from rejoining the Team by any means.
- It allows an Admin to reactivate the user at a later date in the event that they need to regain access to the Team.
Deactivation is not a permanent action, and can be undone in the form of reactivation. This can be helpful if the deactivation was only a temporary need, or simply to undo a mistake was made in deactivation. When viewing the list of Deactivated users, you can hover over their deactivated status on the rightmost column to view the option to Reactivate User:
After confirming your decision to reactivate a user, the user will immediately return to being a normal member of the Team, and regain access. They will not have to re-register or receive a new invite, their access will be returned in the same fashion as when they last had access to the Team.